The Conway Community Scholarship Committee recently announced the awarding of the Dr. Joseph A. Fleetwood Jr. Scholarships for the 2021-22 school year.

The committee is excited to be honoring two local students who are pursuing careers in medical-related fields, according to a press release. Scholarships are awarded to Rebecca Christine Sykes of Conway and Robert Blake Birdsong of Conway.

Sykes is a graduate of UNC-Wilmington and is pursuing a graduate degree at UNC-Pembroke. Birdsong, a 2020 graduate of Ridgecroft, is attending Chowan University.

The Town of Conway and its citizens established this scholarship in 1999 as a tribute to Dr. Fleetwood for his dedicated service to the community. It is awarded annually to students who plan to pursue a college degree in a field related to medicine and who may return to serve Northampton County and its citizens. Scholarships have been given for more than 20 years and past recipients of the Fleetwood scholarship include a pediatrician, nurses, pharmacists, a physical therapist and many others in fields related to health.

The citizens of Conway and its surrounding areas said they are pleased to continue this scholarship on behalf of their “Dr. Joe” who served his patients tirelessly from 1950-1999, according to the release. Dr. Fleetwood was a graduate of Conway High School, Wake Forest University and the Bowman Gray School of Medicine. He completed his residency at the Medical College of Virginia in Richmond and served in the U.S. Navy and as a member of the Naval Reserve from 1948-1978. He was the son of the late Dr. and Mrs. J.A. Fleetwood Sr.

The Conway Community Scholarship Committee continues to raise funds to increase the endowment and is grateful for the continued support in fundraising from the Conway Ruritan Club. Tax-deductible contributions to the fund are welcome and can be made at any time. For more information on the scholarship, contact the N.C. Community Foundation office at 1-888-375-8114.