Catherine MacNichol and Josh Miller of Roanoke Rapids were honored last week as the school’s best all-around athletes for 2020-2021. In total, the Jackets captured nine Northern Carolina 1A/2A Conference titles this year.

Last week, Roanoke Rapids High School capped the 2020-2021 athletic year with its annual all-sports banquet, in which top-flight performers from all seasons were honored for their outstanding play and many contributions to the school.

Today, we recall the spring season, in which the Jackets waltzed with ease to Northern Carolina 1A/2A league titles in baseball, men’s tennis and women’s soccer.


NCC 1A/2A Pitcher of the Year: Braxton Coggins

NCC 1A/2A Player of the Year: Caleb Elias

NCC 1A/2A Coach of the Year: Mark Snead

RRHS Awards

MVP: Caleb Elias

Most Improved: Braxton Coggins

Coach’s Award: Bennett Liverman


Caleb Elias

Braxton Coggins

Austin Geary

Jon Lewis Temple

Josh Coker

Matthew MacNichol

AJ Strickland


NCC 1A/2A Coach of the Year: Jimmy Powers

RRHS Awards

MVP: Karlee Hammack

Best Offensive Player: Logan Storey

Best Defensive Player: Lily Curtis


Karlee Hammack

Lily Curtis

Susannah Odom

Kalissa Williams

Women’s Soccer

NCC 1A/2A Offensive Player of the Year: Catherine MacNichol

NCC 1A/2A Defensive Player of the Year: Cameron Neal

NCC 1A/2A Coach of the Year: Craig Jean

RRHS Awards

MVP: Catherine MacNichol

Best Offensive Player: Kamdyn Jean

Best Defensive Player: Cameron Neal


Catherine MacNichol

Cameron Neal

Logan Abram

Sue Davis

Kamdyn Jean

Skyler Wade

Men’s Tennis

NCC 1A/2A Player of the Year: Coleman Neal

NCC 1A/2A Coach of the Year: Michelle Pageau

RRHS Awards

MVP: Coleman Neal

Most Improved: Finn Grimes

Coach’s Award: Andy Quinteros


Coleman Neal

Andy Quinteros

Paulo Pampilo

Alex Thompson



MVP: Peyton Barnes

Most Improved: Morgan May

Coach’s Award: Taylor Floyd


MVP: Morgan May

Most Improved: Hayli Twisdale

Coach’s Award: Michela Broadnax

Major Awards

Best All-Around Athlete

Josh Miller

Catherine MacNichol

Cranford Hoyle Award

Bennett Liverman

Riley Landen

Mickey Gukich Award

Aaron Hunter

Aimee Erwin Award

Mallaury Pageau

Sports Club Spark Plug Award

Logan Johnson